Trade Mark Classes – What are they?

Written by Cassine Bering | July 12, 2023

Trade Marks

In the fast-paced world of business, protecting your brand is essential for maintaining a competitive edge. Trade marks play a crucial role in safeguarding the distinctiveness of your products or services. Trade marks are categorised using a class system, which helps organise and classify different types of goods and services. In this blog post, we will delve into the trade mark class system, its purpose, and how it works.

Understanding Trade Mark Classes:

The UK trade mark class system categorises goods and services into 45 different classes. These classes are further divided into two main categories: Goods and Services. Goods are classified from Classes 1 to 34, covering various physical products, while Services fall under Classes 35 to 45, encompassing intangible offerings.

Navigating the Goods Classes:

Classes 1 to 34 cover a broad range of tangible products, including chemicals, pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, machinery, vehicles, clothing, and more. Each class groups related goods together. For instance, Class 9 includes computer hardware, software, and scientific apparatus, while Class 25 pertains to clothing, footwear, and headgear.

Exploring the Services Classes:

Classes 35 to 45 encompass different types of services. Class 35 relates to advertising, business management, and retail services. Class 41 covers education, entertainment, and sports activities. Class 45 involves legal services, security services, and personal and social services rendered by others.

Selecting the Right Class:

When applying for a trade mark registration in the UK, it is vital to select the appropriate class(es) that accurately represent your goods or services. Conduct thorough research to identify the class(es) most relevant to your business. This ensures comprehensive protection for your brand and minimises the risk of trade mark infringement.

The Nice Classification System:

The UK trade mark class system is based on the international classification known as the Nice Classification. This system is widely recognised and used by multiple countries worldwide. It provides a standardised approach to classify goods and services, making it easier to register and protect trade marks globally.

Multiple Class Applications:

In many cases, businesses offer goods or services that fall under different classes. For example, a fashion designer might offer both clothing as a product and retail services in relation to clothing. In such instances, applicants can submit a multiple-class application, covering all relevant classes. This approach streamlines the registration process and simplifies the management of trade mark portfolios. You cannot amend a trade mark application once it is registered, so be sure to select all relevant classes to your business before submitting your application.

Briffa Consultation:

Navigating the intricacies of the trade mark classification system can be daunting. To ensure accurate classification and maximise trade mark protection, get in touch and we can arrange a free consultation to talk you through the process and what classes would be most appropriate for you.

Related articles

Back to blog

Book a free consultation with one of our specialist solicitors.

We’ll start with a no obligation chat where we’ll get to know you and understand your current challenges.

Book your free consultation now

Looking for more information?

Explore our services Key industry sectors Briffa content hub